A History of Love, As I Know It (Firewords Quarterly)

firewords2

 

I came home from my holiday in Spain yesterday to find my first short story in print in the beautifully designed Firewords Quarterly: what excellent joy!

This is the inaugural issue of the new literary magazine which has a strong focus on aesthetics and design, with each story being paired with illustrations from a different designer and illustrator. The issue is absolutely beautiful and filled with lots of little literary treasures and poetic morsels. I am very proud to have been a part of the magazine and hope that I might be able to contribute again in the future.

My short story, A History of Love as I know it, is inspired by a family legend about my great grandfather cycling from Coventry to Bourton-on-the-Water on the weekends during his courtship of my great grandmother. It is a very personal story for me, which remains close to my heart, so it is particularly special to finally see it in print. The story was hand lettered by the artist Terence Tang, with a watercolour by Jen Tang – which has just made the experience all the more wonderful. The cherry on top of the print cake! Thank you Firewords.

To get your hands on a copy of the issue, visit: http://www.firewords.co.uk/shop/

Leave a Reply

